Learning to shop the sales…

When it comes to meal planning, I think there are 2 different kinds of people out there. Those who can look in the fridge/pantry and put together at least 3 different ideas for a meal in less than 30 seconds, and those who stand with the refrigerator door open until they have to close it because the food is getting warm, only to still not know what to make for dinner…

Unfortunately I fall in to the second category. My husband is in the first, which only adds to my frustration! (He is actually an awesome cook and affectionately referred to as “The Grill Master” within the 4 walls of our home). Don’t get me wrong, I am by no means a bad cook. In fact, what I make normally turns out pretty good if I do say so myself, but before one can cook, one must know what they will be cooking…

Not only do I have a hard time figuring out dinner ideas, I also have a hard time figuring out what to make based on the sale adds. I had to figure out something and after scrubbing Pinterest for ideas, this is what I came up with!

I found a menu board that was a lot like this one and decided to try it out.  The general idea is that you have a card for each of the meals that you make (with a few blank ones for new or different meals) and write all of the ingredients that are needed to make the dish on the back.  There are two boxes to hold the cards, only because I like to put menu cards that I have made in the top and ones that I haven’t done in a while on the bottom…  You could do it however you want though.DSC_8948

This is how it works:

1). I read through the sale adds in search of anything that could be meal worthy.

2). I go through all of my meal cards and pull out the ones with ingredients that are on sale.

3). I choose which meals I want to have that week.

4). Make my list.

5). Shop!

It solved my 2 biggest problems in one fell swoop (i love a good multi-tasker) Not only have I chosen what will be for dinner for the whole week, but I have also done it using ingredients that I either already have or are on sale! (I know you just jumped out of your seat with excitement right?)

This whole thing may sound silly to some of you, but for others, well… Lets just say it has made a ginormous difference in the way I feel about the process of making dinner 🙂

The bottom line is that it works beautifully and I have saved a bunch of money since I started using it!

How do you do your meal planning? Do you have some tips for planning out your meals? Leave a comment, I would love to hear them!

One thought on “Learning to shop the sales…

  1. I like the idea of a menu board a whole lot. My only problem is that the foods I shop for are never on sale. I’m a raw vegan and the cooked foods that I eat are heirloom dried beans and lentils, and heirloom rice–mostly in the winter months. However, I will use the concept of the menu board for my meal planning. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

