Making Life a Little Prettier

The home we had in Alaska was around 1600 sq/ft and the home we purchased in Alabama has around 2300 sq/ft. It was a pretty big upgrade and we were so excited to have a house that was going to provide so much more space!!! Something we didn’t pay close enough attention to was storage… (Yes I know it was a very rookie mistake) but in my defense, our house in Alaska had AWESOME storage. Logic would say that a larger house would have more storage right? NOPE!!!

At some pointe I had the thought “maybe in a few years we will find a bigger house and move…” And that is when I realized I was buying in to the consumer mentality… What was I saying! We love this house, this yard, this neighborhood, this location… Why was I even thinking about wanting to move??? The answer? STUFF, that’s what, and we don’t even use half of it!

Ok, so I have spent the last year trying to make our stuff fit in the house (we fit just fine, it is just that our stuff isn’t) and I have come to a very strong conclusion (that has lead to very solid conviction)

I refuse to buy a house just to fit our stuff. Instead we are going to edit our stuff to fit our house!

We live in an EXTREMELY consumer driven society. There is a huge confusion between wants and needs. However, it is hard to be content when things look ugly. I started going through our stuff (getting rid of what we weren’t using any more) and then reading organization blogs and trying to figure out how to get the things we still have to look nicer.

Probably the biggest tidbit that I came away with was “It doesn’t have to be expensive, the containers just have to match!” The second, only slightly less important piece of info is “LABEL EVERYTHING”

Organization items are really expensive! Especially when you need 10 of something… Then I found the dollar store. πŸ™‚ Did you know they sell “containers”??? (I didn’t, but then again, I moved here from a island in Alaska… What do I know πŸ˜‰ )

I have had a hay day with what they have there. From using their dish drainers for my plastic lid storage, having their smaller crates for craft bins and even using their pint glasses for glass etching (more on that in a different post). I’m not saying the quality is the highest, but if you are on a tight budget like we are, I have been super pleased with the aesthetically pleasing level of organization I have been able to achieve with dollar store items πŸ™‚

Back to the “everything needs to be the same” part… You can use diaper boxes covered in wrapping paper or fabric, dollar store containers, crystal light containers, oatmeal or Pringles containers. I have even used USPS boxes (shhhh, don’t tell anyone). The point is that you don’t have to spend a lot of money to make things look nicer, you just need containers that match!

20121213-162814.jpg

DIY Home Sweet Home

20121213-163309.jpg

Sweet Shoppe Designs

20121213-163809.jpg

The Nest Effect

20121213-163650.jpg

In This Crazy Life

20121213-164022.jpg

Aunt Peaches

20121213-171346.jpg

Jazzie and Tahlia

20121213-165226.jpg
How About Orange

20121213-171006.jpg
Delightful Order

20121213-171535.jpg
Then She Made

20121213-171701.jpg
Millays in Texas

20121213-171818.jpg
Dollar Store Crafts

Well, there you go…Β  Just a few of a HUGE number of examples that I found during my search. πŸ™‚

I have lots more of these types of ideas pined on Pinterest…Β  Click HERE if you would like to follow some of my boards!

2 thoughts on “Making Life a Little Prettier

  1. I really enjoyed reading this! I’m a sucker for a good “mommy blog” πŸ™‚ and having chosen to stay in our small home so we can be close to my mom, adding a new baby (and a dog, we must be nuts) and being on a budget, I REALLY enjoyed reading this! I have also been sifting out my wants vs needs, what a difference a new perspective can make. Anyways, I could go on and on but wanted to let you know this was very helpful and motivational πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

